Health Book Citation

According to freud the infant can become orally fixated in adulthood if he feels deprived or experiences distress during this stage of development. The psychosexual energy or libido was described as the driving force behind behavior.

5 Stages Of Psychosexual Development

Freud believed that psychosexual development begins with the oral phase from birth to 18 months old when the child learns to perceive his mother s breast as a source of comfort and nourishment.

Freud 5 stages of psychosexual development. Freud s theory of psychosexual development consists of five main stages. Sigmund freud divided this stage into 3 phases the oral phase anal phase and the phallic phase. During the five psychosexual stages which are the oral anal phallic latent and genital stages the erogenous zone associated with each stage serves as a source of pleasure.

It is the unconscious mind composed of all the desires instincts and drives that each person feels. Freud proposed that personality development in childhood takes place during five psychosexual stages which are the oral anal phallic latency and genital stages. The psychosexual theory of personality development is basically shaped and driven by the libido or sexual energy.

They feel pleasure through the act of sucking. Without a phd in human psychology freud s theories can sound like a whole lot of psychobabble so we put together this conversational guide on the psychosexual stages of development to help you. During each stage sexual energy libido is expressed in different ways and through different parts of the body.

The id is the fundamental force that drives the behavior of children. This is the first psychosexual stage of development as per freud because the mouth is the first organ that infants find pleasure with. These conflicts are related to the struggle between the three components of the mind according to freud.

What makes these stages controversial is that each stage is according to freud associated with sexual pleasure. Sigmund freud divided personality development into five stages. This sexual energy would greatly affect the person s personality in the later part of the development.

Freud thought that individuals could experience overindulgence frustration or both during one or more stages. Freud s five stages of development essentially showcase how sexuality starts from a very young age in humans and how it develops till adulthood at different stages. The id the self and the superego.

If these stages are not completed or are unsatisfied a person may get fixated which may lead to a conflicted personality in the adulthood. Freud s psychosexual stages of development. Oral anal phallic latent and genital.

Each one is characterized by a specific kind of conflict and an erogenous zone.

Popular Posts

Featured Post

Pharmacology Math For Nurses

34 pharmacology math learning objectives 1. A nurse s ultimate guide to accurate drug dosage calculations. Nursing Maths Medication Math ...